Official Website


EMI/Angel Records

Return to Recordings


Parkening Plays Bach

Popular compositions of J.S. Bach in transcriptions by Andrés Segovia, John Williams, Rick Foster and Christopher Parkening.  One of Parkening’s most popular and best-selling recordings.

  • Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring (Cantata 147) (J.S. Bach, trans. Rick Foster)
  • Gavotte (Sonata VI for violin, E major partita) (Bach, trans. Andrés Segovia)
  • Prelude I (The Well-tempered Clavier) (Bach, trans. Christopher Parkening)
  • Prelude VI (The Well-tempered Clavier) (Bach, trans. Parkening)
  • Prelude IX (The Well-tempered Clavier) (trans. Parkening, Christopher Amelotte)
  • Sheep May Graze (Cantata 208) (Bach, trans. Foster)
  • Prelude (Bach, trans. Segovia) and Allegro (Bach, trans. John Williams) (Prelude, Fugue and Allegro in E flat major for clavier, original for lute)
  • Gavotte I & II (Cello Suite V) (Bach, trans. Parkening)
  • Gavotte I & II (Cello Suite VI) (Bach, trans. Segovia)
  • Sleepers, Awake (Cantana 140) (trans. Parkening)
  • Sarabande and Variations (G.F. Handel, arr. Parkening)
  • Minuet in D ("Samson") (Handel, arr. Parkening)
  • Giga (Robert D. Visée, arr. Parkening)
  • Passacaglia (Sylvius Leopold Weiss, arr. Parkening)
  • Les Barricades mysterieuses (Ordres, Book II) (François Couperin, arr. Parkening)
  • Preambulo and Allegro vivo (Alessandro Scarlatti)